Question Time

12Mar07

What information about a user’s email, the origin of a message, and the path it took, can you glean from an email message?

– userid
– domain
– date/time sent
– if it’s a fw/re: (if it hasn’t been altered)
At first I was unsure about the path it took, however seeing as we were being asked I figured we must be able to see it – so I went hunting through my email options and discovered I could set it to a basic/full/advanced view. I set it to the full view and could then see the email path – however how to read it……

In what cases would you find it useful to use the ‘cc’, ‘bcc’, and ‘reply all’ functions of email?

cc – I have used this when recommending a friend for work. I have sent a reply to the client, with my friend cc’ed (after I knew she was interested) so that the transaction could continue without me – more efficient than sending two separate replies – although I am unsure of the advantage of using cc instead of just adding them to the main recipient line.
bcc – I haven’t used this – but perhaps if i were responding to a quote request on the like – and I wanted an opinion from a colleague without the client knowing. Once again I could just send a separate email, however this is more efficient.
reply all – When planning an event/get together, and every person needs the information.

In what ways can you ensure that an attachment you send will be easily opened by the receiver?

– First and foremost – don’t presume the recipient is on the same computer and has the same skills as you!
– Find out what OS they are using, and the programs they are running and save it in a compatible format.
-Compress large files to reduce dowload times – along with a good message of the contents this can help ensure that they bother to try and open your attachment.
– Send it in plain text format (ASCII) if all else fails.

What sorts of filters or rules do you have set up, and for what purpose?

I have a standard junk mail filter to reduce the amount of spam that comes through. I also receive a few design newsletters, and I have filters that send them to their own folders by subject for ease of browsing/searching later. Also I often leave them awhile before I read them – it keeps them out of my inbox where I work everyday.

How have you organised the folder structure of your email and why?

I have folders for my design topics (as I said above), plus folders for particular friends whom I like to keep correspondence with…..with the massive amount of storage I have….why not!



No Responses Yet to “Question Time”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment